The Lilley Australia Day Awards (LADA) was established in 1994 through an initiative created by the Federal Member for Lilley, Wayne Swan MP.  At that time Mr Swan commented: –

“We started these local awards to recognise the voluntary contributions of people and organisations in our community and honour their tireless efforts to make our area an even better place to live. It is a pleasure to honour local people and groups who work so hard to improve our local community and I look forward to meeting them and their families at the Australia Day function.”

Since then, the LADA have become an important part of Australia Day celebrations on the north side of Brisbane.  Over the last 20 years more than 800 individual volunteers have been recognised by receiving a Lilley Australia Day Award. The LADA is non-political initiative.  Wayne Swan developed the initiative in 1994 and Elizabeth Grace continued the LADA whilst she was the Member of Lilley in the mid to late 1990’s.  Since his re-election in 1998, the current Member for Lilley, Wayne Swan, has maintained the Electorate Office support for LADA. The LADA’s administrative functions are provided by the Lilley Electorate Office.